Home Brew Beer – Est. 2006


Brew #7: Stoutarama
April 21, 2008, 11:27 am
Filed under: Beer News, homebrewing | Tags: , , , , , ,

I finally got around to getting my next brew together yesterday. It’s a stout and it’s the usual 1gallon (8 UK pint) batch. The recipe is as follows:

Stoutarama (Makes 1 UK Gallon)

1lb Dark DME

4oz Crystal Malt (crushed)

4oz Roasted Barley (crushed)

0.25oz (10g ish metric?) Fuggles Hops (AA 5%)

The grains were steeped in the water as it came up to boil and then removed. The DME was added and the boil began. With 15 mins left I added the hops. Simple!

The brew is currently bubbling away nicely, using Safale S04 Ale yeast (really fast!)

Check back to find out how it turned out!

Cheers! 😉


5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Homebrew stout can be very nice (have made Muntons before) and makes a welcome change from Guinness, Murphys etc. Some real ale brewers make their own stout though it is difficult to find on tap in the pub. Some supermarkets do a real ale stout in a bottle eg Sainsburys sell Titanic stout which is very tasty.
Why do you only brew eight pints? In my house on a Saturday night with my son and his student friends here this amount would last probaly eight minutes. I have to brew in five gallon batches just to keep my head above beer!

Comment by Dewi Jones

Hi Dewi. I agree with you about the scarcity of real ale stout on tap in pubs. Whenever I see some, I always have a pint (or three!) as you never know when you’ll see it again…

I only brew 1 gallon (8 UK pint) batches mainly due to space limitations. I live in a 1 bedroom city centre flat with my girlfriend, so there is simply no space for a 5 gallon carboy/brew bucket. Having said all that, I do believe I may have persuaded the missus to let me upgrade to a 2 gallon fermenter so that’ll double my output.

Comment by Graham Dinsdale

This beer is almost two months old – have you tried it yet? I’m going to start some Geordie Lager today but instead of the bog standard 40 pints I’ll make 35 pints to turn it into a premium brew. Recenty went to Bruges in Belgium. There’s a good place to sample beer!
Best wises for the two gallon outfit.

Comment by Dewi Jones

Hi Dewi, Very perceptive of you. Stoutarama was tried, declared good, and the entire batch finished by a few of us about 2 weeks ago. It was excellent, even though I do say so myself!

I’ve got a new fermentor now (glass demi-john type), so i’m just planning my next batch.

How is the Geordie Lager going? That sounds like a good way to use kit ingredients, less water for a slightly stronger beer. Good thinking!

I’m told that Belgium is the place to go to sample a huge range of beer styles. I’m jealous…

Comment by Graham Dinsdale

The lager (bottled 21/6/08) is OKish but nowhere near as good as Geordie’s Bitter & Yorkshire Bitter. Still, I can’t complain as I am keeping the bitter for myself and pouring the lager down the throats of my son and his student friends.

Comment by Dewi Jones




Leave a comment